Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: TENS UNITS?

TENS UNITS?

Whats the difference between a TENS and EMS unit? is TENS of any benifit?
    the specific one i am tlaking about is the "comfort-stim".

http://www.comforttechnologies.com/?stimulators

????

I'm not an expert, but I believe that TENS is more focused on pain relief. EMS is for building strength.

xlr8

My understanding is the same - tens is for pain relief and is used by many therapists for pain relief only.

thats what i though so basically unless i had an injury i would benefit.

Yes,
    I've used tens and sure it works, but if I was buying one I'd try and see if I could get a Tens function on an EMS kit.

TENS:
    Transcutaneous
    Electrical
    Neuromuscular
    Simulation

EMS:
    Electical
    Muscular
    Stimulation

Any time a stim machine passes a current accross the skin (transcutaneously) it is a TENS machine. Not all TENS machines are EMS machines though. In order for it to be an EMS machine it must elicite a muscular contraction. Some TENS machines do not. For instance transcranial (across the skull) and mirocurrent generators are both TENS machines but neither is an EMS machine. Both can be used as a theraputic modality depending on the regime applyed. I hope this helps.

TENS rules